Paste your Google Webmaster Tools verification code here
The Società Veneziana di Concerti

The Società Veneziana di Concerti was formed in 1996 from the Music Section of the Department of Culture of the Venice Municipality which produced the first seasons of chamber music back in 1984. Paolo Cossato was then head of the Music Section and originator of the initiative; he is now the Artistic Director of SVC. The activities of SVC consist of the organisation of regular seasons of chamber music held mainly at the Teatro La Fenice with whom SVC maintains a valuable and essential collaboration also in its activity of music conferences with their particular emphasis on the world of young people and schools.

The programmes of SVC consist essentially of a repertory of chamber music ranging from Bach to contemporary compositions and is given by internationally famous musicians.
The concerts have enabled the public to appreciate performances of the greatest interpreters of chamber music: famous pianists (Richter, Ashkenazy, Brendel, Pollini, Schiff, Zimmerman, Perahia, Lupu, Sokolov, Lonquich); great violinists (Accardo, Stern, Zukerman, Oistrakh, Ughi, Kavakos, Kremer); violists (Bashmet, Giuranna); cellists (Geringas, Maisky, Yo-Yo Ma, Brunello, Gabetta); trios (Trio di Trieste, Trio Amadeus, Trio di Parma); quartets (Berg, Smetana, Janacek, Artemis, Kuss, Casals); singers (Goerne, Gerharer, Hannigen); and many other eminent musicians.

The compilation of the programmes focuses on a combination of the pleasure of listening with a component of musical culture intended to create a new audience with a view to the future and to the continuity of traditional performances.
The activities of the Società Veneziana Concerti are supported by contributions from the City of Venice and the Veneto Region as well as contributions from private sponsors to which must be added the sale of tickets and season tickets. SVC has more than 300 members who attend the concerts joined by visitors: each concert is thus attended by an average of 600 spectators.

The current President, Paolo Cossato succeeds five presidents of the initial ‘historic’ years of SVC Antonio Polizzi, Nelson Salvarani, Fausto Adami, Gaio Tesser and Angelo Goldmann. SVC is managed by a Board of Councillors elected by the members; the Board is presently composed of a President, a Vice President and 3 councillors.

Board of Directors


Paolo Cossato


Riccardo Levorato


Lidia Fersuoch
Alessandro Milner
Giorgio Zoia

Artistic Direction

SVC Artistic Director

Paolo Cossato


Administrative Secretary

Annalisa Ricevuti

Contact us

Send us an email and we will reply as soon as possible.

Not readable? Change text.